Safety - at the heart of all our thinking

The integral safety concept from Mercedes-Benz divides vehicle safety into four phases:

Phase 1: safe driving

Phase 2: in critical situations

Phase 3: in an accident

Phase 4: after an accident

To prevent further damage/injury following an accident, and to assist in rescuing the occupants, various measures can be initiated, depending on the nature of the accident and severity of impact:

  • The best possible protection: the engine can be switched off automatically and the fuel supply can be cut off.

    Conspicuous lighting: the hazard warning lamps can be activated automatically in order to prevent subsequent accidents and make it easier to find the accident vehicle.

    Accessibility from the outside: the doors can be automatically unlocked. Additionally, integral crash joints between the wing and the door can make opening the doors after a frontal collision easier.

[1] Part of the optional Driving Assistance package Plus.

[2] Not available for AMG models

[3] Part of Intelligent Light System.

[4] SL 65 AMG standard equipment.



Facts and figures

More information

Note: Some models / features may not be available for the Philippine market.